Senator Debbie Mayfield selected as Senate Majority Leader


Florida Senate Majority Leader Debbie Mayfield (R-Melbourne) today released the following statement regarding her appointment by President Wilton Simpson (R-Trilby) as Republican Leader for the 2020-2022 Legislative Term.

“It is a tremendous honor to serve the Florida Senate as your 2020-2022 Republican Leader. Thank you to President Simpson for entrusting me with this great responsibility.

“We will continue to advance conservative policies, invest in Florida’s water quality and protect our vulnerable populations.

“The ongoing pandemic has impacted each of us, our families and our businesses. The road ahead is a difficult one, but I’m confident that together we can pass strategic and bold measures to deliver relief and recovery to Floridians and ensure our state economy prospers once again.”

Majority Leader Mayfield was elected to the Florida Senate in 2016, and reelected subsequently.

Most recently, she served as Chair of the Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture, Environment, and General Government. Previously, Leader Mayfield served in the Florida House of Representatives from 2008 to 2016.

It is the Mission of the Senate Majority Office, as the political extension of the Office of the Senate President, to enable the Republican Caucus to fully participate in the governmental process; providing accurate information and services in a professional manner, enabling our members to make unified, informed decisions affecting the quality of lives of the people they represent. The Senate Majority Office consists of the Majority Leader, who represents the Republican members of the Majority Party in the Senate, as well as a team of professional staff.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.